Holiday Closures and Collection Delays

 City of Johnston Schedule of Holiday Closures
The following are dates that City holidays will be observed. City Hall and other City offices and facilities are not open on these holidays.

City Hall, Public Works, Crown Point Community Center Office Closures are listed below (Trash/Recycling Collection Delays are also indicated.)

  • MLK Jr. Day: Monday, Jan. 15, 2024
  • President's Day: Monday, Feb. 19, 2024
  • Memorial Day: Monday, May 27, 2024 (Garbage/recycling delayed one day)
  • Independence Day: Thursday, July 4, 2024
  • Labor Day: Monday, Sept. 2, 2024 (Garbage/recycling delayed one day)
  • Veterans Day: Monday, Nov. 11, 2024
  • Thanksgiving Day: Thursday, Nov. 28, 2024
  • Thanksgiving Holiday: Friday, Nov. 29, 2024
  • Christmas Eve: Tuesday, Dec. 24, 2024
  • Christmas Day: Wednesday, Dec. 25, 2024
  • New Year's Day: Wednesday, Jan. 1, 2025

Johnston Public Library Holiday Closures

  • MLK Jr. Day: Monday, Jan. 15, 2024
  • President's Day: Monday, Feb. 19, 2024
  • Easter: Sunday, March 31, 2024
  • Memorial Day: Monday, May 27, 2024
  • Independence Day: Thursday, July 4, 2024
  • Labor Day: Monday, Sept. 2, 2024
  • Veterans Day: Monday, Nov. 11, 2024
  • Thanksgiving: Wednesday, Nov. 27, 2024, closes at 4 p.m.
  • Thanksgiving Day: Thursday, Nov. 28
  • Thanksgiving Holiday: Friday, Nov. 29, 2024
  • Christmas Eve: Tuesday, Dec. 24, 2024
  • Christmas Day: Wednesday, Dec. 25, 2024
  • New Year's Eve: Tuesday, Dec. 31, 2024, closes at 4 p.m.
  • New Year's Day: Wednesday, Jan. 1, 2025

For non-emergency issues during City office closures, please call (515) 278-2345. In the case of an emergency, always call 911.